[ SCIENCE BLOG ON ARCHITECTURE, COMPETITIONS AND MEDIATIONS OF EXCELLENCE ]

PARADOXES OF HERITAGE AWARD

Aurélien Catros, September 22 2020

Evolution of award titles related to heritage issues in Quebec (2009-2019)

What should we think of awards of excellence for heritage transformations, particularly in the Quebec context?  According to the recurrence of this type of distinction in the contemporary landscape of architectural awards, heritage would be one of the canonical categories of architectural excellence. Despite their number, the impressive variability in the nature of the buildings awarded these awards seems to be equalled only by their titles. In Canada, the categories judged range from preservation to heritage conservation, to restoration, extension or renovation as one might legitimately expect. On the other hand, it is curious to see notions that seem as far removed from heritage as recycling, sustainable development, or innovation rewarding intervention on the existing. Contrary to what we will call “programmatic” awards that reward buildings with specific functions, these “heritage” awards can be granted to any type of architectural intervention, as long as it concerns a built site, whether or not it has a historical value.

This terminological vagueness could evoke the famous lecture given by the language philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein in 1932 at the University of Cambridge (1) where, in desperation to define the term “game” according to the entirety of the productions it covers, he came to the conclusion that this concept refers less to a common essence than to family likenesses. In fact, if all the artefacts likely to correspond to this family name have fundamentally no common characteristics, they are very similar from one generation to the next: A resembles B, which admits another characteristic in common with C, and so on.  In other words, the multiple productions of the discipline that we do not hesitate to call “heritage” have relationships that are sometimes as distorted as the very definition of the word and the different values to which it refers.

Well known to historians, restorers and architects, these values were described for the first time in 1903 by Alois Reigl in a report commissioned by the Central Commission for Historic Monuments in Austria: the now famous Modern Cult of Monuments (2). In this text, Riegl distinguishes between two categories of value attributed to historical monuments and to heritage in general: the ” commemorative values” (Erinnerungszerte) and the “present values” (Gegenwartswerte). For Riegl, these values do not compete with each other and regularly overlap. His decomposition was based on a pragmatic and political objective in that it was primarily intended to provide a basis for legislation and then recommendations for restoration.

However, this distinction seems to be at the origin of the multiplication of titles among the organizations that proposed to distribute award and thus to categorize the awarded projects. For example, in 2009, the Ordre des Architectes du Québec already dissociated reconversion, embodied by so-called “recycling” awards that essentially rewarded the consideration of contemporary utilitarian value, from conservation and restoration, which referred instead to the values of memory – the age-value and historical value.

Although this binary perception of the disciplines of restoration seemed adequate for the organization until 2015, the titles of its mentions seem to be in perpetual questioning. As of 2013, the term “recycling” will take a back seat to designate interventions of high contemporary utilitarian value, but will be coupled with a sustainable development mention, which rewards the same type of building, more or less.

The 2017 edition sees a major upheaval within these categories and this division disappears in favour of the very neutral Mise en valeur du Patrimoine, awarded that year to the renovation of the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier by Atelier TAG + Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architects in consortium. The OAQ Grand Prix will be awarded to the Maison de la littérature de Québec, a project by the Chevalier Morales agency whose heritage quality is now attested. Although the project was praised by the Order for its consideration of religious heritage – even more so than for the qualities of its plan in relation to its program – the project was nevertheless awarded in the cultural building category. At the same time, the sustainable development mention, which has been recurring since 2013, was changed to a green building mention for this edition, rewarding in particular a project to recycle industrial buildings without demolition.

In 2020, the OAQ will retain the category of Heritage Development but will divide it into two subgroups which refer to the binary distinction that has disappeared over the past five years: “conservation/restoration” and “conversion/expansion”. By combining these terms under the same category, the OAQ acknowledges the need to combine commemorative and present values. While they always distinguish between dissimilar project practices, they all qualify as “heritage”. In doing so, they are thus closer to the categorization proposed by Opération Patrimoine Montréal (formerly known as the Opération Patrimoine Architectural), which does not reward works by categorizing them, but rewards practices as shown by the action verbs in the award titles: “take care”, “bring back to life”, “know-how”, “make known” and “act together”(3).

The fluctuation of heritage mentions in the awards we observe in the case of the Ordre des Architectes du Québec awards is only an indication of a broader disciplinary problem: that of the definition of heritage and its scope within the architectural disciplinary field. If conservation and restoration practices – even extension or recycling – are as old as the discipline itself, it is natural that vectors of standards representing the profession identify them and reward contemporary productions that they deem exemplary. Nevertheless, it appears that some of these productions have absolutely nothing in common, like the so-called “game” elements observed by Wittgenstein. Consequently, by forcing their inscription within the same taxon, these awards contribute to obscure an already protean definition of heritage much more than to shed light on it as they might suggest at first glance.

  • (1) Marjorie Perloff, Wittgenstein’s ladder: poetic language and the strangeness of the ordinary (Chicago (Ill.) ; University of Chicago Press, 1996). p. 60
  • (2) Alois Riegl, The Modern Cult of Monuments: Its Character and Its Origin. (Cambridge (Mass.): MIT Press, 1982).
  • (3) https://ville.montreal.qc.ca/operationpatrimoine/laureats/2019

Aurélien Catros

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top

[ BILLETS SCIENTIFIQUES SUR L'ARCHITECTURE, LES CONCOURS ET LES MÉDIATIONS DE L'EXCELLENCE ]

PARADOXES DES PRIX PATRIMONIAUX

Aurélien Catros, 22 septembre 2020

Évolution des intitulés de prix d’excellence relatifs aux questions patrimoniales au Québec (2009-2019)

Que penser des prix d’excellence attribués aux transformations patrimoniales, en particulier dans le contexte québécois ?  À en croire la récurrence de ce genre de distinction dans le paysage contemporain des prix d’architecture, le patrimoine serait l’une des catégories canoniques de l’excellence architecturale. Malgré leur nombre, l’impressionnante variabilité de la nature des bâtiments récompensés par ces prix ne semble avoir d’égal que celle de leurs intitulés. Au Canada, les catégories jugées vont de la préservation à la conservation du patrimoine, en passant par la restauration, l’extension ou la rénovation comme on pourrait légitimement s’y attendre. Il est curieux, en revanche, de voir des notions qui semblent aussi éloignées du patrimoine que le recyclage, le développement durable, ou encore l’innovation récompenser l’intervention sur l’existant. Contrairement aux mentions que nous nommerons « programmatiques » qui récompensent des bâtiments aux fonctions spécifiques, ces prix « patrimoniaux » peuvent être accordés à tout type d’intervention architecturale, pour peu que celle-ci concerne un site construit, qu’il ait ou non une valeur historique.

Ce flou terminologique pourrait évoquer la célèbre conférence donnée par le philosophe du langage Ludwig Wittgenstein en 1932 à l’Université de Cambridge (1) à l’occasion de laquelle, en désespoir de parvenir à définir le terme de « jeu » d’après l’entièreté des productions qu’il recouvre, en venait à conclure que ce concept désigne moins une essence commune qu’un air de famille (family likeness). En effet, si l’entièreté des artefacts susceptibles de répondre à ce patronyme n’ont fondamentalement aucune caractéristique commune, elles se ressemblent bien de proche en proche : A ressemble à B, lequel, admet une autre caractéristique commune avec C, et ainsi de suite.  Autrement dit, les multiples productions de la discipline que l’on n’hésite pas à qualifier de « patrimoine » ont des rapports parfois aussi distendus que la définition même du mot et des différentes valeurs auxquelles il renvoie.

Bien connues des historiens, des restaurateurs et des architectes, ces valeurs ont été décrites pour la première fois en 1903 par Alois Reigl au sein d’un rapport commandé par la commission centrale des monuments historiques d’Autriche : le désormais célébrissime Culte moderne des monuments (2). Dans ce texte, Riegl distingue deux catégories de valeur attribuée aux monuments historiques et au patrimoine en général : les valeurs de « remémoration » (Erinnerungszerte) et les valeurs « de contemporanéité » (Gegenwartswerte). Pour Riegl, ces valeurs ne sont pas concurrentes et se superposent régulièrement. Sa décomposition reposait sur un objectif pragmatique et politique en ce qu’elle devait avant tout permettre de fonder une législation puis des recommandations en faveur de la restauration.

Cette distinction semble pourtant être à l’origine de la multiplication des intitulés chez les organismes qui se sont proposés de distribuer des prix et donc de catégoriser les projets récompensés. Par exemple, en 2009, L’Ordre des Architectes du Québec dissociait déjà la reconversion, incarnée par des prix dits du « recyclage » qui récompensait essentiellement la prise en compte valeur contemporaine utilitaire, de la conservation et la restauration qui renvoyaient plutôt aux valeurs de mémoire – valeur d’ancienneté et historique.

Bien que cette perception binaire des disciplines de la restauration ait semblé adéquate pour l’organisme jusqu’en 2015, l’intitulé de ses mentions semble en questionnement perpétuel. Dès 2013, le terme de « recyclage » passe au second plan pour désigner les interventions à haute valeur contemporaine utilitaire, mais se voit doublé d’une mention développement durable, qui récompense le même type d’édifice, à peu de choses près.

L’édition 2017 voit un bouleversement majeur au sein de ces catégories et cette division disparait au profit de la très neutre Mise en valeur du Patrimoine, attribué cette année-là à la rénovation de la salle Wilfrid-Pelletier par Atelier TAG + Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes en consortium. Le grand prix de l’OAQ sera décerné à la maison de la littérature de Québec, projet de l’agence Chevalier Morales dont la qualité patrimoniale est désormais attestée. Encensé par l’Ordre pour sa prise en compte du patrimoine religieux – plus encore que pour les qualités de son plan relatives à son programme – le projet a pourtant été primé dans la catégorie des bâtiments culturels. Parallèlement, la mention développement durable, récurrente depuis 2013, se muait en mention bâtiment écologique pour cette édition, récompensant notamment un projet de recyclage de bâtiment industriel sans démolition.

En 2020, l’OAQ conserve la catégorie Mise en valeur du patrimoine mais la divise en deux sous-groupes qui évoquent la distinction binaire ayant disparu depuis cinq ans : « conservation / restauration » et « conversion / expansion ». En associant ces mentions sous une même catégorie, l’organisme prend acte de la nécessaire conjonction des valeurs patrimoniales de remémoration et de contemporanéité. Si elles distinguent toujours des pratiques du projet dissemblables, elles accordent à toutes le qualificatif de « patrimonial ». Ce faisant, elles se rapprochent ainsi de la catégorisation proposée par Opération Patrimoine Montréal (anciennement Opération Patrimoine Architectural) qui ne récompense pas des œuvres en les catégorisant, mais récompense des pratiques comme le montrent les verbes d’action dans les intitulés des prix : « prendre soin », « redonner vie », « savoir-faire », « faire connaitre » et « agir ensemble » (3).

La fluctuation des mentions patrimoniales des prix que nous observons sur le cas des prix de l’Ordre des Architectes du Québec n’est que l’indice d’une problématique disciplinaire plus vaste : celle de la définition du patrimoine et de sa portée au sein du champ disciplinaire architectural. Si les pratiques de conservation et de restauration – voire d’extension ou de recyclage – sont aussi anciennes que la discipline, il est naturel que des vecteurs de normes représentant la profession les identifient et récompensent les productions contemporaines qu’ils jugent exemplaires. Néanmoins, il appert que certaines de ces productions n’ont absolument rien en commun, à l’image des éléments que l’on appelle « jeu » qu’observait Wittgenstein. Dès lors, en forçant leur inscription au sein d’un même taxon, ces prix participent à obscurcir une définition du patrimoine déjà protéiforme bien davantage qu’à l’éclairer comme ils pourraient le suggérer au premier abord.

  • (1) Marjorie Perloff, Wittgenstein’s ladder: poetic language and the strangeness of the ordinary (Chicago (Ill.) ; University of Chicago Press, 1996). p. 60
  • (2) Aloïs Riegl, Le culte moderne des monuments : son essence et sa genèse (Paris : Editions du Seuil, 1984).
  • (3) https://ville.montreal.qc.ca/operationpatrimoine/laureats/2019

Aurélien Catros

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

scroll to top