Directed by Jean-Pierre Chupin, from the Université de Montréal, the ACME Chair contributes to the improvement of the quality of built environments. Research projects, ideas competitions, critical exhibitions and databases question the capacity of buildings and public spaces to meet expectations in terms of equity, social value and sustainability. These issues are addressed through the lens of awards and competitions understood as epistemological filters and mediation devices.

NEWS

PEOPLE

The CCC and AREA teams finally reunited in person after months of teleworking

After spending many months working remotely, students working on the Canadian Competitions Catalogue (CCC) and the Research Atlas on Exemplarity in Architecture and the Built Environment (AREA) finally have the chance to work in the CRC-ACME laboratories again.
EVENTS

An international student competition launched by IDEAS-BE (Concordia University) and CRC-ACME (UdeM)

Public transportation was significantly affected during the pandemic. How can we renew the pleasure of public transportation following the decline in ridership experienced in the last year? How can we redesign the spaces and places of public transportation for encouraging the use of public transit?
PUBLICATIONS

Lucie Palombi, doctoral student in architecture, writes a post on the relationship between architects and literature

Lucie Palombi, doctoral student in architecture at UdeM, reflects on the role of literature and fiction in the world of architecture. why write fiction when you are an architect? Is writing a function of the designer or a side activity? Are there juxtapositions or collisions between architecture and literature?
PEOPLE

Tiphaine Abenia wins the France/Québec prize of the thesis in co-tutorship 2020

Tiphaine Abenia, doctoral student in Architecture at the University of Montreal, wins the 2020 co-tutorship thesis award. Awarded by the French Consulate in Montreal, this title recognizes the best doctoral theses produced under a Franco-Quebec co-supervision agreement.
EVENTS

Lucie Palombi, PhD student, discusses the “City Dreamers” documentary with Phyllis Lambert and Joseph Hillel

As part of its Docu-Conferences, the Université de Montréal Alumni and Donors Network virtually hosted filmmaker Joseph Hillel, architect Phyllis Lambert and doctoral student Lucie Palombi from the Université de Montréal's Faculté de l'aménagement, for a period of exchange.
PUBLICATIONS

New open access book by Jean-Pierre Chupin and G. Stanley Collyer on the role of young architects in competitions

This book presents a collection of data and real-life cases in support of the idea that young offices of architects and planners are able to match or exceed the capabilities of their most experienced competitors when it comes to creating high-quality built environments for the public. The argument is made in (...)
PEOPLE

Jean-Pierre Chupin named honorary member of the AAPPQ 2020

It was at the launch of the 2020 Reference Manual of the Association des architectes en pratique privée du Québec (AAPPQ) that the name of the honorary member she has chosen was unveiled, a title granted to a person who contributes to promoting architectural quality and enhancing the importance of architects (...)
EVENTS

Architecture in the primary school environment. Three seminars on new elementary schools in Quebec.

Architecture plays an important role in the education of young people. For example, the spatial configuration of a classroom can strongly influence the diversity of educational approaches. These themes were discussed during this round table with the teams of the 5 competitions organized by LabÉcole.
PUBLICATIONS

Aurélien Catros, PhD student at CRC-ACME, publishes an article on reconstructive game models

Do video games such as Assassin's Creed faithfully reproduce cities as they were historically? A question that Aurélien Catros and Maxime Leblanc, doctoral students in architecture, have answered in their article on reconstructive game models.

Dirigée par Jean-Pierre Chupin, depuis l’Université de Montréal, la Chaire ACME contribue à l’amélioration de la qualité des environnements construits. Les projets de recherche,  concours d’idées, expositions critiques et bases de données interrogent la capacité des édifices et des espaces publics à correspondre aux attentes en termes d’équité, de valeur sociale et de durabilité. Ces problématiques sont abordées au prisme des prix d’excellence et des concours compris comme des filtres épistémologiques et des dispositifs de médiation.

NOUVELLES

PERSONNES

Lucie Palombi discute du documentaire « Rêveuses de villes » avec Phyllis Lambert et Joseph Hillel

Dans le cadre de ses Docu-conférences, le Réseau des diplômés et des donateurs de l'Université de Montréal a reçu virtuellement le réalisateur Joseph Hillel, ainsi que l'architecte Phyllis Lambert et la doctorante Lucie Palombi de la Faculté de l'aménagement de l'Université de Montréal, pour une période d'échanges.
PERSONNES

Annonce des 5 équipes lauréates du concours international étudiant lancé par IDEAS-BE et la CRC-ACME

Ce concours international d'étudiants invitait à réfléchir à des façons de renouveler l'attrait pour les transports publics lors une crise sanitaire mondiale. Sur les 81 équipes d'étudiants de 16 pays et de 4 continents différents, le jury a choisi de récompenser 5 projets et de décerner 2 mentions honorifiques.
PUBLICATIONS

Article en libre accès dans Sustainability sur les stratégies d’éducation architecturale des bâtiments durables au Canada

Serait-il possible de donner des leçons à travers le langage formel et les caractéristiques esthétiques architecturales? Chupin, Hazbei et Pelchat se sont penchés sur cette question et ont élaboré de nombreuses réflexions à ce sujet dans cet article tout juste publié dans la revue Sustainability (2021, 3, 8166).
PERSONNES

Aurélien Catros remporte le Ray Lifchez Berkeley Prize de l'IASTE avec son article sur les modèles de jeu reconstructifs

Aurélien Catros, doctorant à l'UdeM, et Maxime Leblanc, doctorant à McGill, remportent le prix du meilleur article écrit par des étudiants ou chercheurs junior. Cet article s'intéresse aux jeux vidéos et cherche à déterminer si ceux-ci reproduisent fidèlement les villes telles qu'elles l'étaient historiquement.
ÉVÉNEMENTS

Les Médailles du Gouverneur général en architecture au Canada sur une carte et une galerie visuelle

L’Atlas de recherche sur l’exemplarité en architecture et dans l’environnement bâti, en collaboration avec l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada et le Conseil des arts du Canada présente l’ensemble des Médailles du Gouverneur Général en architecture depuis 1982 sur une carte interactive et dans une galerie visuelle.
PUBLICATIONS

Nouveau livre en libre accès de J-P Chupin et G. Stanley Collyer sur rôle des jeunes architectes dans les concours

Rédigé par deux experts internationaux des concours, ce livre présente un ensemble de données et d’études de cas argumentant du rôle déterminant des jeunes bureaux d’architecture, d’urbanisme et de paysage dans les concours. Les données glanées au niveau international démontrent que (...)
PERSONNES

Jean-Pierre Chupin nommé membre honorifique de l’AAPPQ 2020

C’est lors du lancement du Manuel de référence 2020 de l’Association des architectes en pratique privée du Québec (AAPPQ) qu’a été dévoilé le nom du membre honorifique qu’elle a choisi, un titre accordé à une personne qui contribue à promouvoir la qualité architecturale et à valoriser (...)
ÉVÉNEMENTS

L'architecture dans le milieu scolaire primaire. Trois séminaires sur les nouvelles écoles primaires au Québec.

L'architecture occupe un rôle primordial dans l'éducation des plus jeunes. Par exemple, la configuration spatiale d'une salle de classe peut influencer fortement la diversité des approches pédagogiques. Des thèmes qui furent abordés lors de cette table ronde réunissant les équipes des 5 concours organisés par LabÉcole.
PUBLICATIONS

Comment rendre l'attente du bus plus attrayante et susciter plus d'intérêt communautaire? Nouveau livre en libre accès

Résultat d’un concours international, Réinventer l’attente du bus constitue une synthèse des meilleures idées visant à stimuler les discussions citoyennes et l’engagement des groupes communautaires autour de l’amélioration des petits environnements urbains reliés aux arrêts de bus.