Opening of the website prefiguring the Atlas of Research on Exemplarity in Architecture (AREA)

LOGO_CARRE-scaled.jpg

The bilingual AREA platform is accessible at: https://architecture-excellence.org

Montreal, November 20, 2019 – Raymond Lalonde, Vice-Chancellor for Relations with Alumni, Partnerships and Philanthropy, Raphaël Fischler, Dean of the Faculty of Environmental Design, and Virginie Portes, Director of Funded Research at the Université de Montréal’s Office of Research, Development and Valorization inaugurated, on Tuesday, November 19th, the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competition and Mediation of Excellence program (CRC-ACME). Professor Jean-Pierre Chupin, as the Chair holder, presented the main research directions that will unfold over the next 7 years. He officially launched the Atlas of Research on Exemplarity in Architecture (AREA), a website that acts as the prototype of a future open-access scientific resource that is presently being developed by a network of researchers from 12 Canadian schools of architecture. Other universities will join this network over time.

The program of the new Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence aims to answer a key question in architecture: what defines the quality of built environments? This question is dealt with in a comparative and diachronic manner at the scale of a country, Canada, whereas until now it has been the subject of fragmented analysis. With definitions of quality changing over time, the program will seek to understand how these criteria are used in practice. It will question how peer juries apply – or not – the criteria for “quality” in their collective judgments. It will examine how the users of buildings and public places, once built, feel or perceive the different aspects of architectural quality.

To answer these questions, it is necessary to constitute a representative sample of the architectural production of a country and a period. It is also necessary to have a corpus that derives from the selection processes of peer-review juries, so as not to bias the analysis. Such ensembles exist on a Canadian scale. They consist of award-winning public buildings and spaces, or architectural award winners, and sometimes both, from the late 1980s to the present day. If the award-winning buildings are mediations of excellence (par excellence), the phenomenon begins before the design of the project, continues with the awarding of a prize and obviously much beyond. Award-winning buildings, award after award, year after year, can be interpreted as responses to the constant redefinition of excellence. At the level of everyday experience, how do users perceive the qualities identified by the juries of competitions and prizes to evaluate buildings or public spaces?

The Atlas of Research on Exemplarity in Architecture is designed with the financial support of the Canada Foundation for Innovation, the Université de Montréal’s Centre for Digital Expertise for Research (CEN-R) and Humaneco. It will be hosted by Compute Canada as ongoing database allowing unprecedented comparative analyses of anticipated quality (competition projects) and quality as lived (award-winning buildings). Several thousand competition projects (whether these were winning projects or not) have already been documented in the Canadian Competitions Catalogue, a database created in 2002 through the initiative of the Chair holder and affiliated researchers of the Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (LEAP).

 For the documentation of awards, the CRC-ACME team is currently defining a preliminary corpus within more than 6,000 buildings that have been awarded prizes by over seventy public and private institutions in Canada since 1953 (see our Directory of Administrations of Canadian Awards).

The analysis of hundreds of projects requires the establishment of a broad partnership. This partnership is currently being built. The AEA Network will bring together researchers from more than a dozen Canadian universities in the built environment and will invite administrations of awards to collaborate on the development and regular updated of an Agenda of Canadian Awards.

The impact of this work will go beyond architecture as a discipline, as this type of research requires collaboration between social sciences, humanities and engineering. By making available unpublished data on the characteristics of public buildings, by explicating the design criteria along with the appreciation of qualities by a system of actors and users, and by placing collective judgments of quality at the heart of the program, the Chair will create an open dialogue, inviting disciplines such as ethics, sociology, political science, etc., to enter into new questions about the relationships between people and built environments. Through these intersectoral collaborations, we will be better able to engage with the complex impact of spatial quality on health, society, the achievement of environmental objectives, the correlations between technological development, and the search for the highest environmental standards.

scroll to top

Ouverture du site préfigurant l’Atlas de l’Excellence en Architecture (AEA)

AEAen.png

Bilingue, la plateforme de l’AEA est accessible à l’adresse:

https://architecture-excellence.org/fr/

 

Montréal, le 20 novembre 2019 – Le vice-recteur aux relations avec les diplômés, aux partenariats et à la philanthropie, Raymond Lalande, le doyen de la Faculté de l’aménagement, Raphaël Fischler, et Virginie Portes, directrice de la recherche subventionnée du bureau de la recherche, développement et valorisation de l’Université de Montréal ont inauguré, mardi 19 novembre, le programme de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiation de l’excellence (CRC-ACME). Son titulaire, le professeur Jean-Pierre Chupin, a présenté les principales orientations des recherches qui se déploieront sur les 7 prochaines années. Il a lancé officiellement le site de l’Atlas de l’Excellence en Architecture (AEA), prototype d’une grande ressource scientifique en accès libre, en élaboration par un réseau de chercheurs en provenance des 12 écoles d’architecture canadiennes, auxquelles d’autres universités se joindront progressivement.

Le programme de la nouvelle Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l’excellence vise à répondre à une question essentielle en architecture : qu’est-ce qui définit la qualité des environnements bâtis ? Cette question est abordée de manière comparative et diachronique à l’échelle d’un pays, le Canada, alors qu’elle n’a fait l’objet jusqu’à présent que d’analyses fragmentaires. Les définitions de la qualité évoluant dans le temps, le programme cherchera à comprendre comment ces critères sont utilisés en pratique. Il interrogera la façon dont les jurys de pairs appliquent – ou non – ces critères de qualité dans leurs jugements collectifs. Il examinera la manière dont les usagers des édifices et lieux publics ainsi réalisés ressentent ou perçoivent les différents aspects de la qualité architecturale.

Pour répondre à ces questions, il faut constituer un échantillon représentatif de la production architecturale d’un pays et d’une période. Il faut également disposer d’un corpus issu d’une sélection par des jurys de pairs, afin de ne pas biaiser l’analyse. De tels ensembles existent à l’échelle canadienne. Ils sont constitués des bâtiments et espaces publics lauréats de concours, ou lauréats de prix d’architecture, et parfois des deux, de la fin des années 1980 à aujourd’hui. Si les édifices primés constituent des médiations de l’excellence (par excellence), le phénomène commence avant la conception du projet, se poursuit avec la remise d’un prix, sans pour autant se clore avec la cérémonie. Les édifices primés, prix après prix, année après année, peuvent être considérés comme des éléments de réponse à une redéfinition constante de l’excellence. Au niveau de l’utilisation quotidienne, il s’agira de mieux comprendre comment les utilisateurs perçoivent les qualités identifiées par les jurys de concours et de prix pour évaluer les bâtiments ou les espaces publics.

L’Atlas de l’Excellence en Architecture est conçu grâce au soutien financier de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, par le Centre d’expertise numérique pour la recherche (CEN-R) de l’Université de Montréal et la société Humaneco. Il sera hébergé par Calcul Canada. Il reposera sur une banque de données sans équivalent, qui permettra des analyses comparatives des qualités anticipées (projets de concours) et des qualités vécues (édifices primés). Pour les concours, plusieurs milliers de projets (lauréats ou non) sont déjà documentés dans le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens, banque de données constituée depuis 2002 à l’initiative du titulaire et de chercheurs du Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle. Pour les prix, l’équipe de la CRC-ACME planifie actuellement la documentation des 6 000 édifices ayant reçu des prix octroyés par plus de soixante-dix institutions publiques ou privées au Canada.

L’analyse de centaines de projets exige la mise sur pied d’un vaste partenariat en cours de formation. Le Réseau AEA Network regroupera des chercheurs de plus d’une douzaine d’universités canadiennes dans les domaines de l’environnement bâti et invitera les institutions administrant des prix à collaborer à la constitution d’un Agenda des prix et à leur documentation.

L’impact ira au-delà de l’architecture en tant que discipline, puisque ce type de recherche requiert une collaboration entre sciences sociales, sciences humaines et génie. En rendant accessibles des données inédites sur les caractéristiques des bâtiments publics, les critères de conception et l’appréciation des qualités par un système d’acteurs et d’usagers, et en plaçant le jugement sur la qualité au cœur de son programme, la chaire suscitera un dialogue invitant des disciplines comme l’éthique, la sociologie, la science politique, etc., à de nouvelles interrogations sur les relations entre personnes et cadres bâtis. Grâce à ces collaborations intersectorielles, nous serons mieux à même d’affronter la complexité des retombées de la qualité des espaces sur la santé, la société, sur l’atteinte des objectifs environnementaux, ou sur les corrélations entre développement technologique et recherche de la plus haute qualité environnementale.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

scroll to top