THE ARCHITECTURE OF SCHOOLS IN CITY CENTRES AS SPACES OF RESEARCH CREATION

Anne Cormier, Jean-Pierre Chupin and Georges Adamczyk
research funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (Insight Development Grant) 2018-2020

This research-creation aims to explore the didactic potential of architecture in its relationship with the city through the study and design of places “in-between”. The issue of innovation in school architecture in the Canadian downtown of the 21st century is addressed in an exploration of the interfaces between school and city.

The spatiality of the in-between was studied by the architect Aldo van Eyck in the 1960s and by the theorist and teacher Bernard Tschumi since the early 1990s. Their writings and works are important references for our project. The places that connect the educational spaces and the city still constitute a grey area in current research on school architecture, which tends to focus on educational success with the aim of education, socialisation and qualification for employment rather than theorising the design of the places. We consider, however, that the experience of an architecture attentive to the quality of educational spaces and of the city can contribute to make young citizens aware of the quality of the built environment.

The design of schools and in-between places presents new challenges as functional and technical programs evolve slowly. These technical documents, which describe in qualitative and organizational terms the building projects and from which schools are designed, reproduce a model of a monofunctional building with an outdoor playground at ground level, although it has long since ceased to correspond to the land-related realities of city centres.

Paradoxically, many Canadian cities are short of elementary schools which play a key role in fostering urban development. This research/creation proposes an original mode of investigation based on the competition of ideas. In architecture, a competition of ideas does not necessarily lead to the construction of the winning project, its objective being to bring out innovative proposals and actively contribute to public debate.

In addition to being analyzed, the results of the pilot competition will be available online, in English and French, on the Canadian Competitions Catalogue site and will be the subject of a public exhibition at the UQAM Design Center. In doing so, this project also aims to contribute to the definition of research and creation in architecture and to a better understanding of the role of competitions in the renewal of the discipline and the profession. It will support the training of future researchers and future architects who will be introduced to research by working on issues that will require their contribution in the years to come.

The methodology of the project is based on a principle that we tested in a first SSHRC research-creation project that focused on social housing as a driver of transformation in Canadian and Montreal city centres : the creation component was also based on a competition involving master’s level students.

This new project aims to mobilize researchers from the disciplines of architecture, pedagogy, sociology, psychology, urban design and landscape to develop new pan-Canadian collaborations. Outside the research community, the project is expected to be of strong interest to school boards in major cities in Canada and internationally, as well as groups representing various stakeholders.

<strong>Anne Cormier, Jean-Pierre Chupin and Georges Adamczyk </strong>
research funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (Insight Development Grant) 2018-2020

L’ARCHITECTURE SCOLAIRE EN CENTRE-VILLE COMME ESPACE DE RECHERCHE CRÉATION

Unknown-1.jpeg

Cette recherche-création vise à explorer le potentiel didactique de l’architecture dans son rapport avec la ville à travers l’étude et la conception des lieux de l’entre-deux. La problématique de l’innovation en matière d’architecture scolaire en centre-ville canadien au 21e siècle s’y trouve abordée dans une exploration des interfaces entre l’école et la ville

La spatialité de l’entredeux a été étudiée par l’architecte Aldo van Eyck dans les années 1960 ainsi que par le théoricien et professeur Bernard Tschumi depuis le début des années 1990. Leurs écrits et leurs œuvres constituent des références importantes pour notre projet. Les lieux qui relient les espaces d’enseignement et la ville constituent encore une zone grise de la recherche actuelle sur l’architecture scolaire qui tend à s’adresser surtout à la réussite scolaire dans un objectif d’éducation, de socialisation et de qualification à l’emploi plutôt qu’à théoriser la conception des lieux. Nous considérons toutefois que l’expérience d’une architecture attentive à la qualité des espaces d’enseignement et de la ville peut contribuer à sensibiliser les jeunes citoyens à la qualité du cadre bâti.

La conception des écoles et des lieux de l’entre-deux présente de nouveaux défis car les programmes fonctionnels et techniques évoluent lentement. Ces documents techniques qui décrivent en termes qualitatifs et organisationnels les projets d’édifices et à partir desquels les écoles sont conçues reproduisent un modèle d’édifice monofonctionnel avec terrain de jeu extérieur au ras de la chaussée bien qu’il ne corresponde plus depuis longtemps aux réalités foncières des centres-villes.

De façon paradoxale, plusieurs villes canadiennes sont en déficit d’écoles élémentaires qui, pourtant, jouent un rôle clé pour favoriser le développement urbain. Cette recherche-création propose un mode d’investigation original prenant appui sur le concours d’idées. En architecture, un concours d’idées ne mène pas forcément à la construction du projet lauréat, son objectif étant de faire émerger des propositions innovantes et de contribuer activement au débat public.

En plus d’être analysés, les résultats du concours pilote seront accessibles en ligne, en français et en anglais, sur le site de Catalogue des Concours Canadiens et feront l’objet d’une exposition publique. Ce faisant, ce projet entend contribuer également à la définition de la recherche-création en architecture ainsi qu’à une meilleure compréhension du rôle des concours dans le renouvellement de la discipline et de la profession. Il soutiendra la formation de futurs chercheurs et de futurs architectes qui seront initiés à la recherche en travaillant sur des questions qui exigeront leur contribution dans les années à venir.

La méthodologie du projet reprend un principe que nous avons testé lors d’un premier projet de recherche-création CRSH qui portait sur le logement social en tant que moteur de la transformation des centres-villes canadiens et montréalais : le volet création reposait également sur la tenue d’un concours mobilisant des étudiants de niveau maîtrise.

Ce nouveau projet entend mobiliser des chercheurs des disciplines de l’architecture, de la pédagogie, de la sociologie, de la psychologie, du design urbain et du paysage en vue de développer de nouvelles collaborations pancanadiennes. À l’extérieur de la communauté des chercheurs, le projet devrait fortement intéresser les commissions scolaires des grandes villes au Canada et à l’international, ainsi que des groupes représentant diverses parties prenantes.

Anne Cormier, Jean-Pierre Chupin et Georges Adamczyk
recherche subventionnée par le Conseil de Recherche en Sciences Humaines du Canada (Programme Développement Savoir) 2018 – 2020

scroll to top