[ SCIENCE BLOG ON ARCHITECTURE, COMPETITIONS AND MEDIATIONS OF EXCELLENCE ]

HENRY N. COBB’S AWARD-WINNING SKYSCRAPERS

Mandana Bafghinia, March 9 2020

Place Ville Marie in Montréal (1955-62), Henry N. Cobb in his office (February 2019), the John Hancock Tower in Boston (1967-76)

With the passing away of Henry N. Cobb on March 2nd, 2020, North American architecture has lost one of his most respected professionals—a man acclaimed for his designs as well as for his human dimension.

A native of Boston in 1926, and a graduate of Harvard University’s School of Design in 1947. He was exposed to a new Bauhaus-derived pedagogy at the time of Walter Gropius’ direction, but also to other forms of modernist discourse: from the writings of Le Corbusier to the aphorisms of Mies van der Rohe, who famously saw in architecture “powerful ethics as much as an aesthetic.” Gropius put the emphasis on the social potential of high-rise buildings, as illustrated in Cobb’s diploma thesis for a cluster of housing towers. One of his instructors was Ieoh Ming Pei, with whom he would later create a successful architectural firm in New York.

It was on February 19, 2019 that I met Mr. Harry Cobb in his apartment, on the ground-floor of a prewar building on Manhattan’s East 78th Street in. Although I was planning to interview him specifically about his experience in the making of Place Ville Marie in Montréal (1955-62), and his theories on the skyscrapers, the talk gave way to a comparative analysis of Place Ville Marie and the John Hancock Tower, which was built later in Boston (1967-76), and remained the structure of which Harry was the proudest, as shown by all his writings. If the Montreal tower was left without a single award, the Boston one won no less than five awards.

Throughout his professional lifetime, Henry Cobb was either the lead designer, or part of the team of designers, in 18 cases of high-rise buildings (1). These 18 towers received a total of 47 awards. Among them, not more than 6 have Cobb as the lead designer. For the other 12, he was an active member of the team at work on the design, which included 2 architects, except for Palazzo Lombardia in Milan, for which they were 4 of them. Only 5 buildings among these 18 never received an award: 3 in the category of collaborative design and 2 for which he was a solo designer. In the category of collaborative designs, the Bank of China on Bryant Park in New York (2010–16) received a total of 9 awards. In the category of buildings for which Henry Cobb was the solo designer, the John Hancock Tower has a total of five awards. One wonders why the Place Ville Marie ensemble, which has become one of the most iconic landmarks of postwar modernism in Montreal and in fact in Canada, with its characteristic as first cruciform structure combining several programs, never received any recognition.

These two buildings have undoubtedly become turning point page in Cobb’s carrier. Yet, according to the theory he has proposed, these two buildings cannot be considered as skyscrapers, as they don’t really generate a skyline, and don’t “scrape the sky”. Strangely enough, as Harry Cobb affirmed in the February 2019 interview, Place Ville Marie was only “a very large building,” (2). For him, the Montréal scheme was a self-referential building, an autonomous entity governed by internal systems (3). On the other hand, the John Hancock Tower had been shaped by the contingent determinants of its delicate historic context, in particular Henry Hobson Richardson’s Trinity Church.

The John Hancock commission for a skyscraper had been first given to Pei in the 1950s, and he proposed a set of two buildings on Copley Plaza. After the client rejected this scheme in 1966, requesting a single object on the site, Cobb took the responsibility of the design. His initial proposal was unanimously rejected at first by the local community, as it did not address the historical context. Later, it would be submitted to a heated critique of Boston’s public opinion, as the glass façade panels started falling down one after the next. It took complex legal and technical expertise to finally clear the reputation of the architect.

The earliest awards were specifically dedicated to the building itself, but to the materials it used, and to its urban parti. It received the Prestressed Concrete Institute Award in 1973 and the Annual Award on the Highway & Its Environment, for John Hancock Place Garage, in 1976 and its setting in the urban fabric of Boston. In 1983 it received the Harleston Parker Medal of the Boston Society of Architects, dedicated to architects who built monuments or building considered as the beautiful piece of architecture within Boston and its Metropolitan Area. Considering that the reputation of this building had been primarily smeared by the façade fiasco, one wonders whether these awards were not, in the end, some symbolic compensations.

Back to the history of the firm born in 1955, and in which Pei, Cobb and James I. Freed were the founding partners, the Place Ville Marie was unquestionably the first high-rise building erected by the office, under the direct responsibility of Cobb, as Pei was then busy traveling for other urban planning projects. Beyond this division of projects between partners—Freed being particularly engaged in the design of housing—Pei has engaged the building of cultural edifices and of high-rise structures arranged in groups: he assembled for instance three towers framing a plaza at Society Hills in Philadelphia (1964) and University Plaza in New York (1967). It is difficult to ascertain if Cobb was influenced by his senior or whether it went the other way around. It is obvious, however, that the first two designs of Henry N. Cobb had a determining role for the firm at large. The towers for Montréal and then for Boston paved the way for the later award-winning projects of a by now legendary team.

Rest in peace Mr. Henry N. Cobb.

Mandana Bafghinia.

  • 1) https://www.pcf-p.com/projects/type/tall-buildings/
  • 2) Henry N. Cobb, in conversation with Mandana Bafghinia, New York, February 19th, 2019.
  • 3) Henry N. Cobb, Henry N. Cobb: Words & Works 1948–2018: Scenes from a Life in Architecture. New York, The Monacelli Press, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top

[ BILLETS SCIENTIFIQUES SUR L'ARCHITECTURE, LES CONCOURS ET LES MÉDIATIONS DE L'EXCELLENCE ]

LES GRATTE-CIELS PRIMÉS D’HENRY N. COBB

Mandana Bafghinia, 9 mars 2020

Place Ville Marie in Montréal (1955-62), Henry N. Cobb in his office (February 2019), the John Hancock Tower in Boston (1967-76)

Avec la disparition d’Henry N. Cobb le 2 mars 2020, l’architecture nord-américaine a perdu l’un de ses professionnels les plus respectés, tant pour ses réalisations que pour sa qualité humaine.

Né à Boston en 1926 et diplômé de la School of Design de l’Université de Harvard en 1947, il y a rencontré la pédagogie que Walter Gropius avait élaboré à partir de l’expérience du Bauhaus, ainsi que d’autres formes du discours modernes, des écrits de Le Corbusier aux aphorismes de Mies van der Rohe, qui affirmait que l’architecture devait se fonder sur « une éthique solide autant que sur une esthétique », conviction qu’il partagera. Gropius mettait l’accent sur le potentiel social des immeubles de grande hauteur, comme l’illustre la thèse de diplôme de Cobb pour un ensemble de tours d’habitation. L’un de ses instructeurs fut Ieoh Ming Pei, avec qui il créera plus tard à New York un cabinet d’architectes renommé.

J’ai rencontré Harry – c’est ainsi que tout le monde l’appelait- le 19 février 2019 dans son appartement du rez-de-chaussée d’un immeuble d’avant-guerre de la East 78th Street à Manhattan. Alors que je me préparais à recueillir ses souvenirs précis de son expérience dans son projet de Place Ville Marie à Montréal (1955-62), et à lui faire évoquer ses théories quant aux gratte-ciel, l’entrevue s’est transformée en une analyse comparative de la Place Ville Marie et de la tour John Hancock, construite plus tard à Boston (1967-76), et qui était l’édifice dont il était le plus fier, comme le montrent tous ses écrits. Il est vrai que, si la tour de Montréal n’a reçu aucune distinction, celle de Boston n’a remporté pas moins de cinq prix.

Tout au long de sa vie professionnelle, au cours de laquelle il a édifié de multiples immeubles en hauteur (1), Henry Cobb en a été soit le concepteur principal, soit un membre influent de leur équipe de concepteurs. Ces 18 tours ont reçu un total de 47 prix. Parmi ceux-ci, pas plus de 6 ont récompensé Cobb comme concepteur principal. Pour les 12 autres, il était le membre d’une équipe comprenant 2 architectes, à l’exception du Palazzo Lombardia à Milan, qui en comptait 4. Seuls 5 bâtiments parmi les 18 réalisés n’ont jamais reçu de prix : 3 dans la catégorie du projet en collaboration et 2 pour lesquels il était concepteur unique. Dans la catégorie des projets collaboratifs, la Banque de Chine sur Bryant Park à New York (2010-2016) a reçu un total de 9 prix. Dans la catégorie des bâtiments dont Harry était le concepteur unique, la tour John Hancock a reçu cinq prix. On se demande pourquoi l’ensemble Place Ville Marie, qui est devenu l’un des monuments les plus emblématiques de l’après-guerre à Montréal et dans l’ensemble du Canada, avec son volume cruciforme combinant plusieurs programmes, n’a jamais reçu aucun prix.

Ces deux édifices représentent chacun à leur manière des tournants dans la carrière de Cobb. Cependant, si l’on accepte la théorie qu’il en a lui-même proposé, ils ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des gratte-ciel, car ils ne génèrent pas vraiment une skyline et ne « grattent pas le ciel ». Curieusement, comme Harry Cobb l’a affirmé lors de l’interview de février 2019, la Place Ville Marie n’était pour lui qu’un « très grand bâtiment » (2). Le projet montréalais restait à ses yeux un bâtiment autoréférentiel, une entité autonome réglée par ses systèmes internes (3). En revanche, la tour John Hancock avait été façonnée par les éléments de son contexte historique délicat, en particulier la Trinity Church d’Henry Hobson Richardson.

La commande initiale du gratte-ciel John Hancock fut passée à Pei dans les années 1950, et il proposa alors un ensemble de deux édifices au droit de Copley Plaza. Après que le client ait rejeté ce projet en 1966, exigeant un seul objet sur le site, Cobb en a pris la responsabilité. Sa proposition initiale fut rejetée à l’unanimité dans un premier temps par les habitants du quartier, car elle ne tenait pas compte du contexte historique. Une fois le bâtiment réalisé, l’opinion publique de Boston se déchaîna contre lui, dès lors que les panneaux de façade en verre commencèrent à tomber l’un après l’autre. Il fallut une expertise juridique et technique complexe pour que la réputation de l’architecte soit lavée de toute faute.

Les premiers prix décernés au bâtiment portèrent moins sur la tour en tant que telle, que sur les matériaux utilisés et sur le parti d’urbanisme. Il a ainsi reçu le Prestressed Concrete Institute Award en 1973 et le prix annuel de l’autoroute et de son environnement pour le John Hancock Place Garage, en 1976 et pour son implantation dans le tissu urbain de Boston. En 1983, il a reçu la médaille Harleston Parker de la Boston Society of Architects, destinée aux architectes qui ont construit des monuments ou des bâtiments considérés comme les meilleurs objets architecturaux de Boston et de sa région métropolitaine. Si l’on considère que la réputation du bâtiment avait été entachée par le fiasco de la façade, on peut se demander si ces récompenses n’étaient pas surtout des compensations symboliques.

Pour revenir sur l’histoire de l’agence fondée en 1955, dont Pei, Cobb et James I. Freed étaient les associés fondateurs, la Place Ville Marie fut sans conteste le premier gratte-ciel érigé par le bureau, sous la responsabilité directe de Cobb, Pei étant alors mobilisé par des déplacements incessants liés à d’autres projets d’urbanisme. Au-delà de la répartition, des projets entre partenaires – Freed étant particulièrement engagé dans la conception des habitations – Pei s’est engagé dans la construction d’édifices culturels et d’ensembles de gratte-ciel – il a conçu par exemple les trois tours entourant une place de Society Hill à Philadelphie (1964) et celles de University Plaza à New York (1967), il est difficile de savoir si Cobb a été influencé par son aîné ou si c’est l’inverse. Il est cependant évident que les deux premiers modèles de Henry N. Cobb ont eu un rôle déterminant pour l’agence tout entière. Les tours de Montréal et de Boston ont ouvert la voie aux projets d’une équipe désormais légendaire, qui n’a cessé d’être distinguée.

Repose en paix, Henry N. Cobb.

Mandana Bafghinia.

  • 1) https://www.pcf-p.com/projects/type/tall-buildings/
  • 2) Henry N. Cobb, en conversation avec andana Bafghinia, New York, 19 février 2019.
  • 3) Henry N. Cobb, Henry N. Cobb: Words & Works 1948–2018: Scenes from a Life in Architecture. New York, The Monacelli Press, 2018.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

scroll to top