[ SCIENCE BLOG ON ARCHITECTURE, COMPETITIONS AND MEDIATIONS OF EXCELLENCE ]

ROCOCO, BY FRANÇOIS CHASLIN: AN AWARD-WINNING BOOK ON ARCHITECTURE, WIDELY ACCLAIMED FOR ITS FORM AND CONTENT

Lucie Palombi, November 12 2020

Gold Medal in the Book Design category at the European Design Award in Warsaw in 2019, winner of the student selection of the Best Dutch Book Design 2018, and more recently awarded the Architecture Book Prize by the Academy of Architecture in October 2019 (see our post), François Chaslin’s latest book is still being rewarded, in France and internationally.

In Rococo ou drôle d’oiseaux, published by Éditions Non Standard and modestly presented by the author as “entertainment”, Chaslin returns with humour and poetry to the recent controversies that surrounded Le Corbusier. A concise summary warns the reader that he is about to discover “The Le Corbusier affair as seen by one of its protagonists, with considerations on criticism, plagiarism, hogwash and denunciation” (1). But beyond apparent amusement and fable, Chaslin’s verve is also representative of quality writing in architecture, and his commitment is undoubtedly emblematic of a textuality specific to the discipline. The text can, moreover, be understood in turn alone or supported by the author’s drawings, hidden between the pages.

But what are the members of the prize juries looking for: the content – the text, the tropical horizon, even the literary quality? Or the form – the physical medium, the printed matter punctuated by admirable drawings that never cease to amaze us as we cut the paper?

In this award-winning book, the architect-writer depicts a disciplinary universe populated by colourful characters, a small world where proud roosters, croaking crows and cuckoo cuckoo looters intertwine. Such a work had to have a title that would make its mark; in “Prélude”, François Chaslin preferred “Drôles d’oiseaux” (“Funny Birds”), and with good reason: “Distracted booksellers would not present it next to Chopin’s twenty-four preludes or, even worse, in the architecture section, this confidential discipline relegated to a dark corridor, near the unsold stockroom” (2), in short, “where no one ever goes” (3). Books on architecture seem to be sidelined, or at least unknown to the general public – no one seems to read books written by architects; at most, they are leafed through.

In the video presentation of the publication, François Chaslin advises, not without humour, not to read his book in order to be able to talk about it better: “This is something I discovered: you talk much better about a book if you haven’t read it… this is why we could invite people not to buy it and not to read it” (4). To go further, architecture would have little aura or meaning without the text, as the architect and architectural historian Jean-Louis Cohen pointed out when he was awarded an honorary doctorate at the Université de Montréal, “The written word is crucial to the architectural culture that buildings and printed books, whether by architects or critics, constitute inseparably” (5).

In the eyes of François Chaslin, Rococo as a printed book remains “a beautiful object, but not a beautiful book; I don’t like the idea of a beautiful book, nor a book as an object – adds the author – it is a subject, it is a book with a personality” (6). While he was reluctant to add the drawings of birds, which could comment on the text and inject possible irony, Chaslin finally accepted his publisher’s idea by hiding the images in the folds of the book: “You can read the text without ever meeting a bird” (7).

So, let’s ask the question again: What do the jurors value in the prizes awarded to Rococo: the words or the audacity of the layout (8)? In a previous reflection on the Academy of Architecture Book Prizes, we had noted that the literary dimension of the work was targeted, the jury having appreciated its “literary, original and humorous form” (10). But the titles of the two other prizes won by Rococo lead us to believe that the “design” of the book is undoubtedly the element that prevails over textuality. This intuition would be confirmed by the criteria announced for the Best Dutch Book Design 2018 (note that this was the student selection): “the 295 entries were evaluated for their distinctive qualities by a panel of experts looking for outstanding work in aspects such as content, design, image editing, typography, choice of materials, printing and binding” (10).

Finally, with regard to the prize awarded by the European Design Award in Warsaw in 2019, the criteria focus on three areas of visuals: ‘1 – Quality of design, including the use of images, typography; 2 – Creativity, originality and artistic quality; 3 – Relevance, the extent to which the design meets the specific purpose for which it was conceived’ (11). The literary quality of Chaslin’s book would be secondary to image and composition. This observation echoes the observations of Pierre Chabard and Marilena Kourniati in their book Raisons d’écrire: “(…) from the point of view of material form, architects’ books privilege the articulation between text and images, between discourse and itinerary; from the point of view of reading, they are often less read than consulted, traversed in their visual narrative. (…) Indeed, more than writing books, architects know how to make hybrid editorial objects that have the ability to transform themselves to adjust to constantly changing conditions” (12).

 

  • (1) Back cover of the book; Chaslin, François. Rococo, ou drôles d’oiseaux (divertissement), Éditions Non Standard, Paris, 2018
  • (2) Chaslin, François. Rococo, ou drôles d’oiseaux (divertissement), Éditions Non Standard, Paris, 2018, p.32
  • (3) Chaslin, François. Rococo, ou drôles d’oiseaux (divertissement), Éditions Non Standard, Paris, 2018, p.32
  • (4) Transcription of an extract at 5’20 of the Rococo presentation video at the Librairie La Galerne (https://www.lagalerne.com/videos/5988004/details/)
  • (5) Extract from the speech for the honorary doctorate awarded to Professor Jean-Louis Cohen in 2019 (https://nouvelles.umontreal.ca/article/2019/08/28/trois-doctorats-honorifiques-decernes-aux-plus-recentes-collations-des-grades/)
  • (6) Transcript of an extract at 1’46 from the Rococo presentation video at the Librairie La Galerne (https://www.lagalerne.com/videos/5988004/details/)
  • (7) Transcript of an excerpt at 3’00 of the Rococo presentation video at the Librairie La Galerne (https://www.lagalerne.com/videos/5988004/details/)
  • (8) It should be noted that the design of the book is signed by Élodie Boyer and Patrick Doan (https://editions-non-standard.com/books/rococo)
  • (9) See http://academie-architecture.fr/prix-du-livre-darchitecyre-et-du-livre-pour-la-jeunesse-2019/, Note on the Architectural Book Awards (p.4/5), page consulted on 31 October 2019
  • (10) Information found at https://debestverzorgdeboeken.nl/en/news/the-best-dutch-book-designs-of-2018-announced/, accessed February 26, 2020
  • (11) Information found at https://europeandesign.org/ed-awards/rules/, accessed February 26, 2020
  • (12) Pierre Chabard and Marilena Kourniati, Raisons d’écrire. Livres d’architectes 1945-1999, Éditions de la Villette, Paris, 2013, p.11

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top

[ BILLETS SCIENTIFIQUES SUR L'ARCHITECTURE, LES CONCOURS ET LES MÉDIATIONS DE L'EXCELLENCE ]

ROCOCO, DE FRANÇOIS CHASLIN : UN LIVRE D’ARCHITECTURE AMPLEMENT PRIMÉ POUR LA FORME ET LE FOND

Lucie Palombi, 12 novembre 2020

Médaille d’Or dans la catégorie Design de Livre au European Design Award de Varsovie en 2019, lauréat de la sélection étudiante du Best Dutch Book Design 2018, et plus récemment auréolé du Prix du livre d’architecture remis par l’Académie d’Architecture en octobre 2019 (voir notre billet), le dernier livre de François Chaslin n’en finit pas d’être récompensé, en France comme à l’international.

Dans Rococo ou drôle d’oiseaux, publié aux Éditions Non Standard et modestement présenté par l’auteur comme un « divertissement », Chaslin revient tout en humour et poésie sur les récentes polémiques qui ont entouré la figure incontournable de Le Corbusier. Un résumé concis avertit le lecteur qu’il s’apprête à découvrir « L’affaire Le Corbusier vue par l’un de ses protagonistes, avec des considérations sur critique, plagiat, foutaise et délation » (1). Mais au-delà de l’amusement apparent et de la fable, la verve de Chaslin est aussi représentative d’une écriture de qualité en architecture, et son engagement sans doute emblématique d’une textualité propre à la discipline. Le texte peut d’ailleurs être compris tour à tour seul ou appuyé par les dessins de l’auteur, cachés entre les pages.

Mais que recherchent les membres des jurys des prix : le fond – le texte, l’horizon tropique, voire la qualité littéraire ? Ou bien la forme – le support physique, l’imprimé ponctué d’admirables dessins qui n’en finissent pas de nous émerveiller à mesure que l’on découpe le papier ?

Dans ce livre amplement primé, l’architecte-écrivain dépeint un univers disciplinaire peuplé de personnages hauts en couleurs, un petit monde où s’entrecroisent fiers coqs, corbeaux croâsseurs et coucous pillards. Pareil ouvrage se devait d’avoir un titre qui marque ; à « Prélude », François Chaslin a préféré « Drôles d’oiseaux », et pour cause : « Les libraires distraits ne le présenteraient pas à côté des vingt-quatre préludes de Chopin ni, pire encore, dans la rubrique architecture, cette discipline confidentielle reléguée dans un couloir obscur, près du cagibi des invendus » (2), en somme, « là où personne ne va jamais » (3). Les livres d’architecture paraissent mis à l’écart, en tout cas méconnus du grand public – personne ne semble lire les ouvrages rédigés par architectes ; tout au plus, sont-ils feuilletés.

Dans la vidéo de présentation de la publication, François Chaslin conseille non sans humour de ne pas lire son livre afin de pouvoir mieux en parler : « C’est une chose que j’ai découverte : on parle beaucoup mieux d’un livre si l’on ne l’a pas lu… c’est pourquoi on pourrait d’ailleurs inviter les gens à ne pas l’acheter et à ne pas le lire » (4). Pour aller plus loin, l’architecture n’aurait guère d’aura ni de sens sans le texte, comme le soulignait l’architecte et historien de l’architecture Jean-Louis Cohen lors de la remise de son doctorat honorifique à l’Université de Montréal, « L’écrit est déterminant pour la culture architecturale que constituent indissociablement les bâtiments et les livres imprimés, que ce soit des architectes ou des critiques » (5).

Aux yeux de François Chaslin, Rococo en tant que livre imprimé reste « un bel objet, mais pas un beau livre ; je n’aime pas tellement l’idée de beau livre, ni de livre-objet – ajoute l’auteur – c’est un sujet, c’est un livre qui a une personnalité » (6). Alors qu’il était réticent à l’idée d’ajouter les dessins d’oiseaux, susceptibles de venir commenter le texte et y injecter d’éventuelles ironies, Chaslin a finalement accepté l’idée de son éditrice en cachant les images dans les plis du livre : « On peut lire le texte sans jamais rencontrer un oiseau » (7).

Dès lors, reposons la question : Que valorisent les jurés des prix attribués à Rococo : les mots ou l’audace de la mise en page (8) ? Nous avions constaté, dans une précédente réflexion sur les Prix du Livre de l’Académie d’Architecture que c’est la dimension littéraire de l’ouvrage qui était visée, le jury ayant apprécié sa « forme littéraire, originale et humoristique » (10). Mais les intitulés des deux autres prix remportés par Rococo nous laissent présager que le « design » du livre est sans doute l’élément qui prévaut sur la textualité. Cette intuition serait confirmée par les critères annoncés du Best Dutch Book Design 2018 (notons qu’il s’agissait de la sélection étudiante) : « les 295 entrées ont été évaluées pour leurs qualités distinctives par un panel d’experts à la recherche d’un travail exceptionnel dans des aspects tels que le contenu, la conception, l’édition d’images, la typographie, le choix des matériaux, l’impression et la reliure » (10).

Finalement, en ce qui concerne le prix octroyé par le European Design Award de Varsovie en 2019, les critères s’attachent à trois domaines du visuel : « 1 – La qualité de conception, y compris d’utilisation d’images, de typographie ; 2 – La créativité, l’originalité et la qualité artistique ; 3 – La pertinence, la mesure dans laquelle le design répond à l’objectif spécifique pour lequel il a été conçu » (11). La qualité littéraire du livre de Chaslin serait secondaire à l’image et la composition. Constat qui fait écho aux observations de Pierre Chabard et Marilena Kourniati dans leur ouvrage Raisons d’écrire : « (…) du point de vue de la forme matérielle, les livres d’architectes privilégient l’articulation entre texte et images, entre discours et parcours ; du point de vue de la lecture, ils sont souvent moins lus que consultés, parcourus dans leur récit visuel. (…) En effet, plus qu’écrire des livres, les architectes savent fabriquer des objets éditoriaux hybrides qui ont la faculté de se transformer pour s’ajuster à des conditions perpétuellement changeantes » (12).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

scroll to top