On October 19, 2020, the Consulate General of France in Quebec City, following the recommendations of the evaluation mission of the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and lʼInnovation, designated Tiphaine Abenia as the French winner of the 2020 cotutelle thesis prize. The French and Quebec cotutelle thesis prizes, in the amount of $1,500, were awarded at the Gala organized by Acfas (Association francophone pour le savoir) held virtually on December 9.

Under the direction of Daniel Estevez (ENSA Toulouse) and Jean-Pierre Chupin (UdeM) for the individualized doctorate in architecture, Tiphaine Abenia’s dissertation “Potential architecture of the Large Abandoned Structure (L.A.S.): categorization and projection” was defended in June 2019. An architect and engineer, Ms. Abenia now teaches at the École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).

It was at the launch of the 2020 Reference Manual of the Association des architectes en pratique privée du Québec (AAPPQ) that the name of the honorary member she has chosen was unveiled, a title granted to a person who contributes to promoting architectural quality and enhancing the importance of architects in society.

According to Anne Carrier, President of the AAPPQ, “this title is awarded to a committed individual who, through his or her career, contributes to promoting the architectural quality of the built environment and the importance of architects in society in general. This year, the Board of Directors of the AAPPQ wished to emphasize the importance, for the private practice of architecture, of cooperation with the university community. The contribution of research, based on knowledge, is indeed essential to identify, qualify and define best practices.

This year’s honorary member has played a pioneering role in researching and documenting the role of competitions as tools for creating and improving quality in architecture. »

During this event, the 25 achievements selected by the Reference Manual selection committee were presented. Among them, the Science Complex of the MIL Campus of the Université de Montréal, realized by Menkès Shooner Dagenais Le Tourneux Architectes | Lemay | NFOE, in consortium.