SKYSCRAPERS AS A COMPLEX RESPONSE TO RISING WATERS

Mandana Bafghinia, Jean-Pierre Chupin and Bechara Helal
funded by the Council of Tall Building and Urban Habitat (CTBUH – student research award 2019),

The research proposes to delineate the principles of a new skyscraper typology able to respond to the challenges of rising waters, both through an improved resiliency of the lower levels and potential adaptations of the upper floors for safety purposes and the collection of energy.

Objectives:
This research will explore ideas opening on a new category of skyscrapers through a more resilient adaptation of their lower and upper floors.
The initial and critical question is: How could traditional skyscrapers stand-up in case of main floods?
From this standpoint a series of questions can be formulated:
1 – what are the main design strategies that can be deployed by architects to transform the lower levels in case of submersion?
2 – How can the upper levels be rethought, in order to allow a temporary refuge for users?

Impacts:
From New York to Shanghai, coastal cities are at risk as sea levels rise and unpredictable storm surge. According to a well-known prognosis, by 2050 approximately 68% of the world’s population will live in urban areas (Revision of World Urbanization Prospects, 2018), implying the development of vertical structures. 90% of the world’s largest cities are located on waterfronts, but so far, most efforts they made to respond to climate change have focused on mitigation and much less on adaptation. (Depietri. McPhearson. 2017).
In recent years, issues related with water has received a great attention in the international community. The only response to a looming tragedy is to adopt a strategy immediately effective. (Dimensions of Sustainability, 1999.)
So far other strategies have been suggested in cities such as New York, through the addition of superstructures. For instance, the JDS Development Group has redesigned the roofs of residential buildings, unfortunately creating unexciting and unattractive types, limited to high- end residences, and which are not relevant for other types of high-rise structures.

Long-term benefits:
The research will contribute to the necessary debate on the rethinking of skyscraper design, and specifically to the adaptation of the systems to the effects of climate change. The research will open doors for a strategy of improved adaptability. It will also help envision the aesthetics of skyscrapers in an age of climate change, in which they might become active instruments in the resistance of cities to unprecedented threats.

Mandana Bafghinia, PhD candidate, scholar in charge
Supervisors: Jean-Pierre Chupin, PhD and Bechara Helal, PhD
Research Assistant: Conor DeSantis, Masters Student in Urban Studies

funded by the Council of Tall Building and Urban Habitat (CTBUH – student research award 2019),

LES GRATTE-CIELS, UNE RÉPONSE COMPLEXE À LA MONTÉE DES EAUX

Screen-Shot-2020-08-19-at-3.59.38-PM-1030x762.png

La recherche se propose de définir les principes d’une nouvelle typologie de gratte-ciel capable de répondre aux défis de la montée des eaux, à la fois grâce à une meilleure résilience des niveaux inférieurs et à des adaptations potentielles des étages supérieurs à des fins de sécurité et de collecte d’énergie.

Objectifs :
Cette recherche exploratoire mettra en évidence les catégories de gratte-ciel les plus favorables à une adaptation de leurs étages inférieurs et supérieurs visant à les rendre plus résilients.
Problématique : Comment les gratte-ciels traditionnels pourraient-ils tenir debout en cas de grandes inondations ?
Questions de recherche :
1 – Quelles sont les principales stratégies de conception qui peuvent être déployées par les architectes pour transformer les niveaux inférieurs en cas de submersion ?
2 – Comment repenser les niveaux supérieurs, afin de permettre un refuge temporaire pour les usagers ?

Portée :
De New York à Shanghai, les villes côtières sont menacées par l’élévation du niveau de la mer et les marées de tempête imprévisibles. Selon un pronostic bien connu, d’ici 2050 environ 68 % de la population mondiale vivra dans des zones urbaines (Révision des perspectives d’urbanisation mondiale, 2018), ce qui implique le développement de structures verticales. 90 % des plus grandes villes du monde sont situées en bord de mer, pourtant, jusqu’à présent, la plupart des efforts déployés pour faire face au changement climatique ont porté bien davantage sur l’atténuation que sur l’adaptation. (Depietri. McPhearson. 2017).
Ces dernières années, les questions liées à l’eau ont fait l’objet d’une grande attention de la part de la communauté internationale. La seule réponse à cette tragédie imminente est d’adopter sans délais une stratégie efficace. (Dimensions of Sustainability, 1999.)
Jusqu’à présent, plusieurs stratégies d’ajout de superstructures ont été proposées dans des villes comme New York. Par exemple, le groupe de développement JDS a redessiné les toits des immeubles résidentiels, créant malheureusement des architectures peu excitantes et réservées aux résidences luxueuses. Ce genre de solution n’est donc pas pertinente pour d’autres types de structures de grande hauteur.

Contributions à long-terme :
Cette recherche contribuera au nécessaire débat sur le design des gratte-ciels contemporains, et plus particulièrement sur l’adaptation des systèmes aux effets du changement climatique. La recherche ouvrira la voie à une stratégie d’adaptation des structures existantes. Elle permettra également de questionner l’esthétique des gratte-ciels à l’ère du changement climatique, dans laquelle ils pourraient devenir des instruments actifs de la résistance et la résilience des villes à des menaces sans précédent.

Mandana Bafghinia, candidate au doctorat, chercheuse responsable
Superviseurs : Jean-Pierre Chupin et Bechara Helal
Assistant de recherche : Conor DeSantis, étudiant en master d’études urbaines

recherche financée par le Council of Tall Building and Urban Habitat (CTBUH – student research award),

scroll to top