AN ECOLOGY OF WOOD CULTURES IN CANADA (2003-2020) : COMPARING CONSTRUCTIVE CULTURES THROUGH AWARDED ARCHITECTURAL DESIGNS

Izabel Amaral (Laurentian University), Jean-Pierre Chupin and Carmela Cucuzzella,
research funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (Insight Development Grants) 2020-2022

At the intersection of architectural theory and cultural studies, this research investigates wood architecture as a symbolic universe that allows us to study the presence of nature in human culture. This research will theorize the diversity of expressions of quality in Canadian architecture, from the standpoint of environmental preoccupation, building culture and architectural expression. Considering wood architecture as a form of “cultural ecology”, it has the potential to reveal how Canadian cultures represent and symbolize their relations to the land and natural resources, as well as the cultures of its founding peoples.

Notwithstanding the interest in wood as a major alternative to fossil fuelbased construction materials, this research will highlight the symbolic spectrum of wood buildings, which ranges from local and indigenous traditions to ecological aesthetics, representing forms of making that rely both on traditional architectural practice or recent building technologies and computeraided design. We aim to better interpret and understand how advancements in architectural practice and building techniques affect the way architecture is envisioned and materialized in Canada during the past decades. In parallel to studying the influence of environmental considerations to architectural forms in Canada, we will make sense of a dissonance within the theory of architecture between ideas about the interdependency or autonomy of architectural form (visual appearance), material (what it is made of) and meaning (messages and ideals expressed). This investigation will also provide an empirical study of two theoretical standpoints in architectural theory, that have been presented by authors Kenneth Frampton (Columbia University) and Antoine Picon (Harvard University), who defend opposite views on materiality and digital culture. Considering a corpus of awarded designs centered on wood as a sustainable building material, this research will evaluate exemplary (awarded) Canadian architecture of public cultural buildings and its analytical acknowledgement as a cultural practice. Through a series of comparative analysis within an empirical corpus of 40 awarded projects from Ontario and Quebec, between 2003 and 2020,
our primary objectives and main research phases are:

Identification and illustration of cultural expressions in Canadian wood architecture
To obtain a thorough understanding of the variety of practices and cultures in Canadian wood architecture, we will document and analyze awarded wood buildings (through photographs, drawings, physical models, texts, etc). Second, we will study and identify the tensions between discourses about sustainability and architectural expression, allowing us to probe the place occupied by wood architecture as (1) a symbolic form of environmentalism, as (2) a strategy to engage with aesthetic perceptions, as (3) locus of a debate about traditional and digital cultures in architectural design, and as (4) a means for designers to encourage the vitality of local communities and industries.

Visualization and dissemination of research outcomes
The 40 projects studied will publish in an openaccess source, the Atlas of Excellence in Architecture, a documentation and research platform of Canadian awardwinning architecture. We will also submit scholarly work about Canadian wood architecture to a variety of peerreviewed and openaccess publications, as well as scholarly presentations in academic events. Further documentation will be gathered and organized for an exhibition of exemplary Canadian Wood Architecture.

Izabel Amaral (Laurentian University), Jean-Pierre Chupin and Carmela Cucuzzella,
research funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (Insight Development Grants) 2020-2022

UNE ÉCOLOGIE DES CULTURES DU BOIS AU CANADA (2003-2020) : COMPARAISON DES CULTURES CONSTRUCTIVES À TRAVERS LES PROJETS ARCHITECTURAUX PRIMÉS

Project_Aaniin_01-1-2880x1200.jpg

À l’intersection de la théorie architecturale et des études culturelles, cette recherche examine l’architecture en bois comme un univers symbolique qui nous permet d’étudier la présence de la nature dans la culture humaine. Cette recherche théorisera la diversité des expressions de la qualité dans l’architecture canadienne, des points de vue de la préoccupation environnementale, de la culture constructive et de l’expression architecturale. En considérant l’architecture en bois comme une forme d' »écologie culturelle », elle cherchera à révéler comment les cultures canadiennes représentent et symbolisent leurs relations avec la terre et les ressources naturelles, ainsi qu’avec les cultures de ses peuples fondateurs.

Malgré l’intérêt pour le bois comme alternative majeure aux matériaux de construction à base de combustibles fossiles, cette recherche met en évidence le spectre symbolique des bâtiments en bois qui va des traditions locales et indigènes à l’esthétique écologique, représentant des formes de fabrication qui reposent à la fois sur une pratique traditionnelle de l’architecture et sur les technologies de construction récentes comme la conception assistée par ordinateur. Nous cherchons à mieux interpréter et comprendre comment les progrès de la pratique architecturale et des techniques de construction affectent la façon dont l’architecture est envisagée et construite au Canada au cours des dernières décennies. Parallèlement à l’étude de l’influence des considérations environnementales sur les formes architecturales au Canada, nous donnerons un sens à la dissonance au sein de la théorie de l’architecture entre les idées sur l’interdépendance et de l’autonomie de la forme architecturale (son apparence visuelle), du matériau (de quoi il est fait) et de la signification (les messages et idéaux qu’il exprime). Cette enquête fournira également une étude empirique mettant en perspective deux points de vue théoriques en matière de théorie architecturale. Ils ont été respectivement soutenus par les auteurs Kenneth Frampton (Columbia University) et Antoine Picon (Harvard University) qui défendent des points de vue opposés sur la matérialité et la culture numérique. Considérant un corpus de projets primés centrées sur le bois comme matériau de construction durable, cette recherche évaluera l’architecture canadienne exemplaire des bâtiments culturels publics et sa reconnaissance analytique en tant que pratique culturelle. Grâce à une série d’analyses comparatives au sein d’un corpus empirique de 40 projets récompensés en Ontario et au Québec, entre 2003 et 2020, nos principaux objectifs et nos principales phases de recherche sont les suivants :

Identification et illustration des expressions culturelles dans l’architecture en bois canadienne
Afin d’obtenir une compréhension approfondie de la variété des pratiques et des cultures dans l’architecture canadienne en bois, nous documenterons et analyserons les bâtiments en bois récompensés (par le biais de photographies, de dessins, de modèles physiques, de textes, etc.) Nous étudierons et identifierons ensuite les tensions entre les discours sur la durabilité et l’expression architecturale, ce qui nous permettra de sonder la place occupée par l’architecture en bois comme (1) une forme symbolique d’environnementalisme, comme (2) une stratégie pour s’engager avec les perceptions esthétiques, comme (3) lieu d’un débat sur les cultures traditionnelles et numériques dans la conception architecturale, et comme (4) un moyen pour les concepteurs d’encourager la vitalité des communautés et industries locales.

Visualisation et diffusion des résultats de la recherche
Les 40 projets étudiés seront publiés dans une source en libre accès, l’Atlas de l’excellence en architecture, une plateforme de documentation et de recherche sur l’architecture canadienne primée. Nous soumettrons également des travaux universitaires sur l’architecture canadienne en bois à une variété de publications en libre accès et évaluées par des pairs, ainsi que des présentations scientifiques dans le cadre d’événements universitaires. D’autres documents seront rassemblés et organisés pour une exposition d’architecture en bois canadienne exemplaire.

Izabel Amaral (Laurentian University), Jean-Pierre Chupin et Carmela Cucuzzella,
recherche subventionnée par le Conseil de Recherche en Sciences Humaines du Canada (Programme développement Savoir) 2020-2022

scroll to top